2019 Honor Awardees

2019 Honor Awards Jury:

  • Lee Ann Gamble, AIA | Gamble+Gamble | Atlanta
  • Ashley Hernandez, AIA, NOMA | Cooper Carry, Inc. | Atlanta
  • Jared Serwer, AIA | Perkins+Will | Atlanta
  • Jodie Quinter, AIA | CED Architecture + Interiors | Savannah

2019 Rothschild Jury

  • Antonin “Tony” Aeck | Lord Aeck Sargent | Atlanta
  • Robert L. Brown, Jr., FAIA | RL Brown & Associates | Atlanta
  • Anne Kolman Smith, FAIA | Lominack Kolman Smith | Savannah

2019 Winners

Anthony Cissell, AIA
Emerging Professional Award

As a dedicated architect with significant impact in the Southeast region, Anthony Cissell has carved out a passionate career of timeless work and meaningful community participation. For Cissell, age has had no limit to the engagement he has championed in urban design and historic preservation. Cissell has continued his relationship with his alma mater in his nationally award-winning work on the SCAD Museum of Art with his firm Sottile+Sottile and serving as a professor of architecture. This direct access to the shaping of future architects and designers and his meaningful participation in the student and local chapters of AIA are to be commended and recognized with the 2019 AIA Georgia Emerging Professional Award.

Architecture Firm of the Year

BLDGS is a recognized firm of local, regional, and national commendation. The Atlanta-based firm has set a precedent for other firms large and small in its design philosophy of individualized solutions and the importance of a contemporary and public focused perspective on design and the built environment. Equally passionate about both education and architecture, founding principals, David Yocum, and Brian Bell, also serve as professors at the Georgia Institute of Technology, College of Architecture where they have been able to imbue their dedicated and enlightened view of architecture and environmental impact. BLDGS has elevated the public’s conception of meaningful design and their multi-faceted work shows their belief in architecture as a “community asset.” Their work in both architecture and with the next generation of architects is recognized, celebrated and to be commended and recognized with the 2019 AIA Georgia Firm of the Year Award.

Atlanta Center for Creative Inquiry (ACCI)
Bronze Medal

Dedicated to addressing issues of diversity facing architecture, the  Atlanta Center for Creative Inquiry (ACCI) has mentored hundreds of students with many going on to pursue careers in architecture, engineering, and construction fields. Since their founding in 2004 by notable and revered Atlanta architect, Oscar Harris, ACCI has created a strong foundation based on a shared vision of nurturing and fostering excitement about the built environment. The organization’s unwavering commitment to the mentorship of the future leaders of the profession make the organization an outstanding and deserving recipient of the AIA Georgia Bronze Medal.

Janice Wittschiebe, AIA
Bernard B. Rothschild Award

As a former AIA Georgia and AIA Atlanta president, Wittschiebe has promoted the importance of active membership in the association as a base for improving the public conception of the significance of architecture. A founding principal of long-celebrated Atlanta architectural and interior design firm – Richard, Wittschiebe Hand (RWH) she recently joined Stevens & Wilkinson bringing along her passion and collaborative commitment to design. Wittschiebe, recognizing a need for stronger relationships between architecture schools and practicing architects, has concentrated on professional development and leadership as well as mentoring students, interns, and colleagues. Wittschiebe’s constant pursuit of more diverse gender representation in architecture has led to a very active role with her alma mater, the Georgia Institute of Technology. She has served on a wide range of boards from the Georgia State Financing and Investment Commission to the Georgia Board of Trustees. Her tireless work is a testament to the importance of the “citizen architect” and is deservingly celebrated by the 2019 Bernard B. Rothschild Award.